Jam & Coconut Slice

Hi.

I made this slice last week. It’s one of my favourites. My mum used to make it when I was little and I was craving it the other day.

I adapted it from the Australian Women’s Weekly Cakes and Slices recipe book. They call it ‘Our Best Coconut Slice’

Ingredients:

1/2 cup castor sugar

25g – 30g butter

1 egg

1/3 cup self raising flour

2/3 cup plain flour

I used a mixture of strawberry and rosella jam, but you can use any flavour of jam

Topping:

2 eggs

1/3 cup castor sugar

2 cups of coconut

Method:

Cream the butter and sugar and egg until light and fluffy. Stir in shifted flours. Spread the mixture in the bottom of a lightly greased tin. I found the best way to do this is wet your hands and use your fingers to press the mixture into the tin. Originally I tried using the backs of a spoon but the mixture stuck.

Then spread jam on top of this layer. The recipe says 1/2 cup of jam but I used spooned it on until there was a nice coating. In a separate bowl prepare the topping by whisking the eggs and beating in sugar and coconut. Add the topping to the tin. Bake on 180deg C for about 35mins or until the topping is nice and brown. Cool and cut when cold.

– J x

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

