Awesome Cakes: and I forgot to take photos…

Yesterday was my partner’s mother’s birthday and I made some awesome cakes (if I do say so myself).

I remade the orange and almondmeal cake from my first post. This time it was MUCH more successful. I used a bundt cake tin (the ones with the hole in the middle) and it ensured that the cake was cooked perfectly. I don’t think I included the recipe last time so here you go: it is very simple and easy to make. As I mentioned earlier it is adapted from Souvalkiforthesoul blog. They describe the cake as ‘intense’ and I beg to differ. The orange flavour is spot on.

2 large oranges which have been boiled

6 eggs

250g of almond meal

250g of castor sugar. or I used 125g of ‘smart’ castor sugar

1 tps of baking powder

Icing

40g unsalted butter

60g of cream cheese

1 to 1.5 cups of icing sugar

Boil the oranges for two hours. ensure that there is always water in the pot, over that period of time I had to top it up a couple of times. Once boiled and soft, cut the oranges up and remove any pips. I usually just have to cut out the thin white line down the center and then it’s good to go. Then blend the oranges and eggs thoroughly with a food processor (I don’t have a food processor or a blender, which would have been my second appliance of choice, so I just used the mix master) Warning: when using the mix master it is very splashy. Sounds crazy but I hold up a tea towel around the bowl to stop my kitchen being redecorated in orange slush. I keep mixing until the skins are chopped up sufficiently. Then add almond meal, sugar and baking powder and mix (the slush factor usually dies down with the introduction of some dry ingredients). Mix until well combined. Pour into greased bundt tin and bake on 190deg oven for 45mins. Allow to cook and then frost with Cream cheese icing.

Even my boyfriend who isn’t a fan of cakes enjoyed this one!

I also made a great, heart stopping chocolate cake. Adapted from the chocolate cake recipe in Delicious magazine.

Unfortunately I didn’t take photos of the finished cakes – sorry!

110g unsalted butter

200g dark chocolate

1 cup (220g) caster suger (I used 110g of ‘smart’ sugar)

1 tbs vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

2/3 cup (200g) plain flour, sifted

Chocolate filling

90g cream cheese, at room temperature

60g unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 1/2 tbs coca powder, sifted

1 cup (150g) icing sugar, sifted

150g dark chocolate, melted, cooled

100g sour cream

German chocolate glaze

1 egg, lightly beaten

¼ cup (60ml) evaporated milk

¼ cup (55g) caster sugar (I used 1 tbs ‘smart’ sugar)

50g dark chocolate, chopped

25g unsalted butter

Preheat oven to 180deg. Grease two cake tins that are the same size.

 Place the butter and chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of gently simmering water (make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water), stirring until the butter and chocolate have melted and combined. Allow to cool slightly.

Place chocolate mixture in the bowl of an electric mixer with sugar and beat until well combined. Add the vanilla and coffee, then the eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Combine bicarbonate of soda and sour cream in a bowl, and then add to the chocolate mixture. Fold in flour until just combined. Pour in ¾ cup (185ml) of boiling water and beat until smooth.

Divide batter between the two cake pan, then bake for 25-30 minutes until a skewer inserted into the center comes out clean and the cake pulls away slightly from the edges of the pan. Cool in the pans for 5 mins, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

Meanwhile, for the chocolate filling beat the cream cheese and butter in an electric mixer in a small bowl for 5 minutes until completely combined. fold through cooled chocolate mixture and sour cream and then set aside.

 For the chocolate glaze, place all ingredients in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water. Whisk continuously until the chocolate and butter has melted and the mixture has slightly thickened. Remove from the heat and allow to cool.

To assemble use a serrated knife to carefully slice each cake in half horizontally to give four layers. Place one layer on a serving plate, then using a spatula, spread one-third of the filing on the cake. Continue layering the cake and filling finishing with the final layer of cake on top. Carefully pour over the glaze letting it drip down the sides.

(tip: I only used half the glaze so feel free to make a half batch)

– Enjoy xo

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

